Bersatu 6 now independent MPs, Bukit Gantang rep claims


The six Bersatu MPs that the party is seeking to oust are arguing that they are now independent lawmakers, one of the rebel representatives claimed.

Bukit Gantang MP Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal claimed this is because they were sacked from the party, which he takes to mean that they get to retain their seats as per the anti-hopping law.

In a statement today, he said the group wrote a letter to Dewan Rakyat speaker Johari Abdul to explain their circumstances.

“We believe the speaker will use his wisdom to make a ruling that the notice sent by Bersatu confirms we were officially sacked and are now independent MPs,” he said.

Under the anti-hopping law, an MP loses their seat if they relinquish their party membership or join another party.

However, MPs who are sacked get to keep their seats.

Bersatu is arguing that the six - who previously declared support for Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim - had relinquished their memberships after violating party rules about compliance with directives.

Besides Syed Hussin, the other MPs are Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), and Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

A Dewan Rakyat session is ongoing, which began on Monday, although Johari has yet to decide on this issue.

During a press conference, Syed Hussin said the speaker is likely taking his time to analyse the letters sent to him before making a ruling.

He also maintained that the six did not violate Bersatu’s rules by supporting Anwar.

“We have never stated that we are not party members while supporting the prime minister. We have never made any posters to indicate that we are not members of Bersatu,” he said.

Should Johari declare the six seats vacant, Syed Hussin said he is prepared to defend his seat.

“The possibility is unknown, but I am ready to defend my seat if there is a by-election.

“I believe by-elections are a waste of time and require a high budget.

“We still have time to settle things. Let’s provide the best service until the general election.

“We offer the people the opportunity to make a decision. If we create chaos now, the country will be unstable,” he added.

Syed Hussin first won the Bukit Gantang seat under BN in 2018.

However, he quit Umno that same year and later joined Bersatu, winning the seat again for the party in 2022. - Mkini

Bersatu 6 now independent MPs, Bukit Gantang rep claims